Pearls of the Poverty

The roadway was all deserted,

Street lights making images,

Some were of naked, and

Some of rolling bones.

I walked but couldn’t see,

An immature drinking salt,

The mute voice he carried.

Ah! I stumbled hard,

With a sore throat and a dry tongue,

Pupil glowing under the star beam,

Gazing at me,

Starved and ragged,

Human nature called me,

I stepped with a lost scarf,

Forgot the misery,

Searched the bond,

No colour, No caste,

Searching the one lost.

Paupers crying for pennies,

And I, for grandeur.

They grumbled,

 

“This World, a jury of miseries,

We the marionettes,

Designed for torturous ligatures,

Systematising fortunes,

For bank of presidents.

Decorating our castle,

Out of worn out candles, and

Dining a table of empty vessels,

For the pearls of the poverty.”

 

 I stepped to talk,

And  found my lost veil,

Stuck the pin,

Searched the pocket,

The loaf! It wasn’t desired,

Money! I never tried.

In thoughts the night passed by,

Thinking about the denial,

Of fulfilling the need,

Questioning self,

“Are these complaints then out of greed ?”

 

Beggar

 

P.S:  Help the needy in the best way you can but never put a penny in their hand instead fulfil their desire. Your penny turns them handicapped your help in the right way will give them power to live the life.

~A.N

2 thoughts on “Pearls of the Poverty

  1. “help the needy in the best way you can but never put a penny in their hand …………. your penny turns them handicapped”

    this line made me think for a while …….. never realized this ……… What a wonderful thought Amreen !!

    • Thank you Fahad!

      For me it is just a way to spread a message and your comment made me feel that at least may be to just one, two or to handful people but I have my little effort paid. 🙂

Leave a Reply

