What is it being a ‘New Scooterist’

“In such a situation men should be extra careful! Careful about not to ride over the pedestrians walking on pavement. After all they are taking over to pavement.”

Article as published in Greater Kashmir, dated 29-08-2013

- My response article as published in Greater Kashmir, dated 04-09-2013

– My response article as published in Greater Kashmir, dated 04-09-2013

Kashmir, a place where beauty is appreciated and the harshness of the same is so much underestimated that the cries go unheard but when a women drops a tear it gets numerous hands to swipe and they get a chance to escape the punishment. Well! These aren’t my thoughts but of the people on the road.

It was on Thursday evening when I came across an article “New Scooterists” I realized what it is to be a scooterist, to be more appropriate Lady Scooterist, in Kashmir. According to an author as the women have taken to roads, men are driving on the pavements but the strange thing is all the male members of my family and the vehicles driven by male from the areas I have travelled through are still exhausting their fuel to roads but yes I have seen some drunkards hiring the pavements and hitting the people too. Sir, I hope you are not talking about that carefulness? Or are you? As far I know according to the traffic rules pavements are better for the pedestrians walking along the road. Please spare the a pavement after all preservation of life is their prime duty.

Now coming to the point rehearsing accidents. Well! Till date I didn’t know about rehearsing accidents may I know who is supervising them. There must be a proper school for them where they learn to hit and run. If you happen to know do convey me the place because some boys, note the word some, too are rehearsing same and they too need to be addressed. By the way I never knew people hated their life and property to this extent that they have started rehearsing accidents. Such wisdom!

Your anger at being hit by a lady has pressurized your nerves too much that you have bought all women in one witness box and are aiming a single shot to all. Just like “All or None” rule and you have heartlessly chosen “all”. I am sorry on behalf of the girl who has been too harsh in reply. Her cells must have been in hyper-tonic stage that is why she has busted up in such a rude language. Moreover not to forget all aren’t same. I hope you understand.

Accepted by the author, that lady scooterists are in rarity in the Kashmir. Still he hopes to see same gender accidents over an opposite one. Sir, what frenzy is this? One more thing it is a policeman to be blamed for being too lenient with women not the one who gets a chance to flee. And yes they aren’t just lenient to women but they do same for men and that too for some hot bucks to get their pocket warm.

While an author has plausibly accepted that the license of lady drivers is a mere fiction and they are totally illiterate when talked about the traffic rules and regulations. I would appreciate if he comes up with the relevant data/ survey charts which could support his imaginary facts that he has drawn on the paper without even paying a thought about the men driving with no license or who too have not been through test trials and yes forgetting the boys who are just under-matric and are still on roads zooming too fast as a bullet out of the gun. It is too easy to take up a lines and portrait them against anyone but too hard to accept the truth when same lines reflect your breed also. You have been too caring and so social in questioning an inspector and sharing pity but too disloyal to the society that you didn’t bother to file a case against an inspector on being irresponsible towards his duty. My teacher in class 3rd or 4th taught me, “When it is about family and duty, Duty stands first”. How could you forget this?

In nutshell men you ought to be careful because you just can’t trust the lady driving why not if she is more skillful than you, which I obviously know that you won’t accept. Stay a distance away from lady drivers because it’s a male person only who is too ignorant over the crashes dispensed by her. Since such men are too busy in impressing a lady than doing a job and thus it is better to ignore the priority of addressing the first line problem and jumping over the conclusion that women should not drive for the safety of the men. Dear ladies before these men call you an accident ghosts, haunting the men of Kashmir while driving, it is better to hand over the roads to them. Though road widening is in progress but you know that old saying “Eidgah te Chu Tchoute”. Same is the case here.

I hope news about a girl getting a license to run a commercial plane would have glared into your eyes and ringed in your ear drums. Since precaution is better than cure so gentlemen please think before flying now because she might be searching a male plane to crash in and you know this is guaranteed that male pilot will be hit only. As for now she is the first girl from Kashmir.

Then our author writes “My only complaint to you is that by driving scooters, you have snatched away from men the only source of the romance of life.” Only complaint? Then what did I read while going through this article up to this point? May be the words of appreciation wrapped in the ribbon of anger to discourage the ladies who want to get rid of the pushes and comments of the ‘Romeos’ in the bus. Well! I just can’t skip mentioning if there are boys who have no moral respect and seldom care of their dignity there are also boys who have wisdom to value the same. Unlike you I can’t bundle all in one category. Also, while an author has altogether blamed the lady for poisoning the ‘only’ source of the romance of man’s life I want to ask, are the rest of men who own nothing, not having any source of romance in the life?

Sir, though I am no scooterist and will never be one because I knew what it is to be a scooterist in Kashmir and more ever you made me understand the same very nicely. I don’t disagree that there are some ladies who do not drive as per the rules just in the same manner as there are some boys but that doesn’t mean we will turn hard to all of them. It was too unfortunate to read some lines from you because you hold an esteemed job and your words to society means a lot. They make a difference. I hope you won’t take me wrong I just tried to drive you through some points that were not acceptable though I know you will not prefer the lady handling steering.

On a lighter note: “Why should boys have all the fun?” But let me tell you this is not the only fun on the earth.

~A.N

– – –

This post is in response to the one published in Greater Kashmir on Thursday under the heading “New Scooterists” http://www.greaterkashmir.com/news/2013/Aug/29/new-scooterists-36.asp

And my response article was published on same local daily, Greater Kashmir, on Wednesday under the heading “On being a ‘New Scooterist”  http://jammu.greaterkashmir.com/news/2013/Sep/4/on-being-a-new-scooterist–10.asp

8 thoughts on “What is it being a ‘New Scooterist’

  1. Sometimes the truth inside our mind pops out and spread a message to the world, that how filth filled it is already…!

    I am really annoyed by this class of human beings on the road of humanity, who blame opposite feminine gender on all occasions of life…..

    Some are covering them in clothes….while still staring at them badly…..
    Some are asking them to stay at home….while still committing rape….

    Are we humans because we blame….?

    We were made equal…….by out Creator Almighty….and is mentioned in Holy Book also, indeed men are made more responsible towards women.

    There is no distinction made by religion, except at one occasion….and just on that basis….our so called manhood filled bags of scam are making this all an ego matter…..?

    I have a question to these so called unnamed “judg-mental” people……..!

    “What if for a day I make you to observe the place of gender class you badly criticize upon…”

    I hope it would be badly painful for them…….

    Before we raise our finger to others….we should not forget that out of 4, 3 are already pointing towards us…..thats rule of nature…..that what ever is happening around, is not only to blame on someone……we are part of it…..unfortunately 75% indeed….in case of pointing…!

    I have seen with my own eyes that how badly our male society is possessive about our female equal part.

    They are victim of verbal, physical and behavioral abuse…..!

    I am of the view that they should be given a separate transportation system…

    Like separate buses and separate bogies in train….! but if it is out of govt. budget then at least we should accept it….

    At least now they are free from many eyes and can live with confidence….
    even in that case they aren’t safe from road side romeos….but at-least some security….!

    • I wish all men had a same school of thought like you but we can’t expect all fingers to be same. Thank you accepting that I haven’t pointed wrong.

      BTW same person has commented below you can see what kind of thinking people have.
      Blessings!

      • Already did…..!
        Unhappily….We, so called arrogant Muslims of current time are using religion as a shield or a sword…..There is not a single teaching found in our religion saying you should blame someone of something of which you are also an equal part.

        The person tried to reference the religion at certain occasions, but that was sort of ‘sword use’ …..!

        I am really unable to see, how irresponsible are the males of current time…..?
        Man today is blaming women for a rape, we hear news right…?

        Where is the Hijjab part of male society…..were only women asked in Holy Qura’an to wear Hijjab….? or there were some instructions for men also…..?

        How easily we blame our counterparts……

        Guys are performing one wheeling and are risking lives of others……I have personally observed and witnessed the occasions when our male counterparts were responsible for huge injuries including women and children…

        Actually we are “Ego beings” on the way to humanity….

        When the opposite gender is right on the edge of freedom and independence, form our filth covered, male oriented society…..its now our ego matter….

        Thousands of voices are going to rise saying, ‘this is Haraam / Hallal….’
        NOW we would open Qura’an to prove some one wrong….or to kill someone…..other wise in remains inside the cover….specially when we are wrong…..with a famous comment….”We should not grab religion every where….”

        We use the best philosophy of the world (Holy Qura’an) as a biased…..and harsh tool….!
        Either we are imposing wars…..
        or We are hitting people……
        or We just and only just criticize…..

        “To criticize is easy part…..even an illiterate will do so….
        if we want to be recognized as ‘Educated’ we should accept the ground realities….and suggest instead of criticism…”

  2. Clearly a very biased and polarized written article by ‘Sir’.

    As rightly pointed out by A.N., the words ‘Rehearsing Accidents’ sounds totally unacademic. I don’t know about any school for ‘Rehearsing Accidents’ but I would suggest “Sir”, the AXE Unlimited Academy for Seduction, so that he can learn new avenues of romance in life.

    Secondly, I really doubt ‘Sir’s narrations regarding the incident of the girl ramming into him and proclaiming her turn in buffooning the rules of the road. If not, then such an intrusive reply might be a reaction to sexist remarks slammed out on her, which is quite probable considering that the author has, in his wisdom, construed the opposite sex as ‘archrivals’ which testifies his sexist attitude.

    And the part – Ladies choose men to accident with – ?? as if they have an option??
    Yeah sure, my sympathies with ‘Sir’ since they chose only men to accident with, out of the wide array of other species of extra-terrestrial motorists that are licensed to drive on the Kashmiri roads.
    And why would anybody choose to accident in the first place?

    But I do agree with ‘Sir’ on one point. In case of any row, the crowd is always on the side of the fairer sex. Something I’ve never been able to understand till date why.

    Lastly, why on earth are men driving on pavements? Aren’t pavements meant for the pedestrians? And wouldn’t that push the poor pedestrians like ‘Sir’ to the roads, and left to be hit by the “nefarious” lady drivers?

    Just for the info, here in Dubai, lady driven cars go for a higher resale value than those driven by men because the perception is that lady driven cars are better maintained and meekly driven. So much for the Lady Sacooter Saga. 🙂

    – Fahad Syed

    • Thank you Fahad for you finding my reply rightly. BTW you should read the clarification of the person in the comment just below your comment.

      Moreover I too agree with your point “n case of any row, the crowd is always on the side of the fairer sex. Something I’ve never been able to understand till date why.” but here too who is responsible. It is just not like for this we will blame that girl/woman, but an entire mindset that crowds around.

      It is rather a broad issue than as narrow as Author of “New Scooterists” has summed up.

      Blessings!

  3. Thanks for reading the Article and then writing this Comment.
    I was shocked the way you interpreted the Article and its message. Actually, I am not writing this article against the women or their driving of scooters. Mam, my point of discussion is regarding Lady Scooterists after the futwa from so called religious scholars that the ladies can drive scooters to reach their home/offices on time. When I am telling that men are driving on the pavements, I mean they are forced to drive themselves on the pavements, rather than letting themselves be killed innocently. Men will definitely spare the pavement when ladies will understand their prime duty (Religiously).
    “Lady Scooterists drive their gearless vehicles with glee—rehearsing accidents.” Till now their driving was illegal, but they are now legalized by the so Called Religious Scholars and definitely they will in near future be given the driving License to rehearse the same and the same people (License Issuing authority) will supervise them. Dear, You well said, “I never knew people hated their life and property to this extent that they have started rehearsing accidents. Such wisdom!” Mam, everything is possible in Love and War. To impress the opposite sex and to wage a war against them is now their prime duty, so they little care about their life and property.
    You well said, “Her (lady scooterist who had kindly hit me from the rear) cells must have been in hyper-tonic stage that is why she has busted up in such a rude language.” Mam, when ladies come to shower their responsibilities with their counterparts, Men they lose their temper and consequence is evident, (Hitting Men), still all are not same.
    Your teacher in class 3rd or 4th taught you, “When it is about family and duty, Duty stands first”. How could you forget the teachings of your Religion that prohibits you to leave the house unaccompanied by your family member (moharam)? “My only complaint to you is that by driving scooters, you have snatched away from men the only source of the romance of life.” Mam, this trend will reverse. After sometime, ladies (girls) will be driving scooters and the gents (Boys) and then this paradise will really turn into the HELL and we will not be able to mourn the same. The Issue was raised in ‘Rab Ne Bana De Jodi’ also the same things will happen and families will be destroyed.
    Mam, I congratulate you for not being a lady Scooterist as you said, “Sir, though I am no scooterist and will never be one because I knew what it is to be a scooterist in Kashmir and more ever you made me understand the same very nicely.”
    Mam, Sorry that you are hurt to read some lines but it is unfortunate that you misunderstood it. Mam, I know I am holding an esteemed job and my words mean a lot to the society that is the reason that I am writing for the social evils because I foresee the evil things.
    Mam, I agree with your lighter note: “Why should boys have all the fun?” But let me tell you this is not the only fun on the earth. Ladies must enjoy on this Earth but within the Islamic Jurisdiction and Islam is never against the women but the protector of their Respect and Chastity.

    Iqbal Rightly Says
    “Wajood-I Zan se Hai Qaynaaat main Rang” and the same has been fabricated as ‘Wajood-I Zan se Hai Qaynaaat main Jung.

    I hope you are not again hurt.

    • No need to be thankful I just read your article because the heading alone was so very biased. I have intolerance to something that is totally not acceptable.

      Shocked! Why? Though I know you are least tolerant Anyway It isn’t about only me that I misunderstood you but all the people who read you must have misunderstood you then. By the way we haven’t misunderstood we tried to understand what you have chosen to write. Let me share some comments to you so that you will understand what people got out of your article. These are just few.

      Also you can draw conclusion from above two comments also btw they too are by men.

      “So called religious scholars”? I can’t stand this phrase. You & Me is just no one to judge anyone. Let Allah swt alone decide who is who. First you underestimate lady and then you expect everything out of her. That sounds so fabulous.

      This -> “Mam, everything is possible in Love and War. To impress the opposite sex and to wage a war against them is now their prime duty, so they little care about their life and property.” Alone made me laugh. Seriously! How could you think this? Wallah! This at least isn’t an era of Hitler 😛

      “Mam, when ladies come to shower their responsibilities with their counterparts, Men they lose their temper and consequence is evident, (Hitting Men), still all are not same.” Take a notice about your words only who is to be blamed? The answer is in your words only.

      “How could you forget the teachings of your Religion that prohibits you to leave the house unaccompanied by your family member (moharam)?” Will I take my family member to class? Will you allow the same in your class? What about those who are not married? Sir! You are totally not speaking up to practical life.

      I haven’t seen the movie neither I am interested in same. Btw it seems you have watched the movie is that “ISLAMIC”? I mean watching a movie? I am asking this question because you only spoke of some Islamic duties. Hope you won’t regret for the same. 

      I wasn’t hurt. I just can’t stand to your points, rather biased ones.

      Since you foresee the evil things then I hope to write to read your articles on boys in near time.

      Alhumdulillah! Islam honors women. Did I, God forbid anywhere mention the reverse of this -> “Islam is never against the women but the protector of their Respect and Chastity”?

      Who has fabricated this -> ‘Wajood-I Zan se Hai Qaynaaat main Jung’.? You?

      Anyway sir, you keep your ideology I keep my teaching. You aim everything should changed on by women’s side instead taking a brief notice of shortcoming of others as well. And just trust me this won’t work.  When we write, we ought not to be pointing fingers to just one. The game is never played by one person, same way this nuisance in the society isn’t one sided.

      It’s like,

      “Rose! Your beauty pleased me,
      I took you to add decorum to my room,
      This world blames me for your loss,
      But it’s your beauty that attracted me.” ~A.N

      Sir, Same stands true for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

